What’s new

Six Derry Players Named in Electric Ireland Minor Star Football Team of the Year

Relevant Tags

Electric Ireland, proud sponsor of the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Championships, is pleased to announce 15 standout performers from the 2023 Minor Football season, as it announces the 2023 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Football Team of the Year and the Electric Ireland Minor Star Football Player of the Year. In the 12th year of their partnership with the GAA, Electric Ireland take a look back at what has been an action–packed Minor Football season. Players and counties across the country provided us with stellar performances, some big upsets and most importantly – plenty of minor and major moments throughout the Championship.

In a series of hugely competitive games, Derry took home their second Minor title in just four years with an impressive performance over Monaghan which ended with a 1–13 to 0–9 scoreline. With a number of outstanding performances on the day from both sides, it was a Championship that didn’t disappoint.

In this year’s Electric Ireland Minor Star Football Team of the Year, finalists Monaghan and Derry have 11 representatives across the squad. Derry have taken six spots, with Monaghan taking five places on the team. The Kingdom have two representatives, with Dublin and Mayo having one player each respectively.

Electric Ireland has also announced this year’s Electric Ireland Minor Star Football Player of the Year – Derry’s Johnny McGuckian. McGuckian has been a standout player for Derry over the past two seasons securing vital scores for the team throughout their campaign. The brave and determined wing forward ran riot during the 2023 campaign and has certainly made his mark on Derry Football.

2023 Electric Ireland Football Minor Star Team of the Year

1.Jamie Mooney (Monaghan and Cremartin Shamrocks)2.Jack Lynch (Monaghan and Monaghan Harps)3.Fionn McEldowney (Derry and Slaughtneil)4.Eoin McGreal (Mayo and Garrymore)5.Cahir Spiers (Derry and Magherafelt)6.James Sargent (Derry and Lavey)7.Ryan Mitchell (Dublin and Erin’s Isle)8.Ben Murphy (Kerry and Austin Stacks)9.Tommy Rogers (Derry and Kilrea)10.Seán Óg McElwain (Monaghan and Scotstown)11.Tommy Mallen (Monaghan and Scotstown)12.Johnny McGuckian (Derry and Watty Grahams Glen)13.Conall Higgins (Derry and Magherafelt)14.Matthew Finn (Monaghan and Emyvale)15.Paddy Lane (Kerry and Austin Stacks)

Sarah Sharkey, Group Sponsorship & PR Manager at Electric Ireland, commented: “As the Electric Ireland GAA Minor season comes to a close, we are delighted to announce the 2023 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Football Team of the Year. We have been provided with another season full of epic performances, outstanding players and plenty of major and minor moments. Electric Ireland applauds Johnny McGuckian of Derry who is the well–deserved recipient of Electric Ireland Minor Star Football Player of the Year. Johnny has been vital to the Derry squad and certainly has a bright future as he moves through the adult ranks.”

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “I congratulate all the players in this year’s Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Team of the Year, extending a special mention to Johnny McGuckian of Derry on picking up the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Player of the Year. I would like to thank the players for their commitment this season, their parents and families for all the support they offer and their clubs and coaches for their commitment to these young players.”

Our use of cookies

Some cookies are necessary for us to manage how our website behaves while other optional, or non-necessary, cookies help us to analyse website usage. You can Accept All or Reject All optional cookies or control individual cookie types below.

You can read more in our Cookie Notice


These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

Analytical cookies help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.

Third-Party Cookies

These cookies are set by a website other than the website you are visiting usually as a result of some embedded content such as a video, a social media share or a like button or a contact map